Covid-19: mandatory quarantine for travelers from Guyana, Brazil, Argentina, Chile and South Africa

Travelers arriving from this ultra-marine territory and these four countries will have to observe ten days of isolation, under penalty of fines.

Article written by



Reading time : 1 min.

A ten-day quarantine will now be mandatory for all travelers coming from Guyana, Brazil, Argentina, Chile and South Africa, Matignon announced on Saturday April 17. This isolation will be accompanied by restrictions on exit times, as part of the fight against the Covid-19 epidemic, with increased fines.

Four days ago, the executive had already suspended “until further notice” all flights between Brazil and France, in both directions, due to concerns around the P1 variant of Covid-19, identified in the country. The suspension of flights between France and Brazil is extended until Friday, April 23. After this date, it will be necessary to present a negative test of less than 36 hours to board the plane. Flights with Argentina, Chile and South Africa are maintained in the event of a compelling reason.

In addition, for people arriving from these four countries, and from Saturday April 24, the list of reasons and categories of people authorized to come to France will be restricted, for the most part, only to nationals, their spouses and children, and nationals of the European Union or of a third country having their main residence in France.

Matignon finally specifies that “the measures relating to the performance of a test and the organization of a 10-day quarantine will also apply to travelers from Guyana”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *