Decades of military junta

Burma has only had three civilian presidents between independence, in 1948, and the year 1988. It experienced decades of military junta, before a return to a civilian president in 2016.

January 4, 1948. Burma, a colony of British Indies since 1885, is independent.

1962. General Ne Win seizes power in a coup.

1988. Student revolt. The army repressed the demonstrations in blood, killing 3,000 people. Aung San Suu Kyi, who lived abroad, returns but is placed under house arrest for fifteen years.

1992. General Saw Maung is overthrown by a coup d’état by General Than Shwe.

2015. First free general elections since 1990.

March 20, 2016. Htin Kyaw becomes the first civilian president since 1988, and Aung San Suu Kyi is the tutelary figure of the new government, but the generals retain the royal ministries.

August 2017. Military repression against Rohingya Muslims.

November 8, 2020. Aung San Suu Kyi’s ruling party, the National League for Democracy, wins a big victory in the parliamentary elections.

1er February 2021. Military coup by General Min Aung Hlaing.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *