DIRECT. Vendée Globe: see or review the finish in Les Sables-d’Olonne, maximum suspense!

It is now a certainty, because of the time compensation granted to some, the first to cross the line off Sables d’Olonne will not necessarily be the winner of the ninth Vendée Globe. An epic arrival to experience live this Wednesday, January 27.

►Follow our direct on arrival (6:40 p.m. to 11 p.m.)

Arrivals to follow here, from 6.30 p.m. this Wednesday February 27

The suspense is at its height a few hours before the finish of this ninth Vendée Globe. Yannick Bestaven could offer himself the victory thanks to his time bonus.

Boris Herrmann (GER / Seaexplorer-Yacht Club de Monaco), Charlie Dalin (FRA / Apivia) or Yannick Bestaven (FRA / Maître Coq IV): who will ultimately be the winner of this ninth edition of the Vendée Globe, the race around the World in lonely and nonstop?

© Boris Herrmann – Charlie Dalin – Yannick Bestaven / Vendée Globe

The hourly compensations that will be applied on arrival may ultimately offer victory to other skippers. They are three to benefit from a time bonus linked to the rescue of Kevin Escoffier (PRB) on November 30, 2020, namely:

  • 6 hours of compensation at Boris Herrmann on Seaexplorer – Yachtclub Monaco
  • 10 hours and 15 minutes of compensation at Yannick Bestaven on Maître CoQ IV
  • 16 hours and 15 minutes of compensation at Jean Le Cam on Yes We Cam!

These bonuses will be applied when crossing the finish line. Currently, Boris Herrmann has a bonus of 6 hours, when he crosses the finish line the jury will therefore subtract from his final time his 6 hours of compensation … The same calculation will be applied to Bestaven and Le Cam.

This Wednesday morning, it is Charlie Dalin who still occupies the first position in the ranking but the skipper remains under the threat of Louis Burton, pointed at 60 miles, but also and especially of Boris Herrmann (3rd at 70 miles) and Yannick Bestaven (5th at 182 miles).

►Ranking this Wednesday January 27 at 6:00 p.m. (Please note, this classification does not take into account the time compensation granted to certain competitors for having participated in the rescue of Kevin Escoffier)

  • Charlie Dalin (Apivia)
  • Louis Burton (Bureau Vallée 2), at 55.7 (nautical miles)
  • Boris Herrmann (SeaExplorer – Yacht Club de Monaco), at 109.4 nm.
  • Thomas Rouillard (LinkedOut), at 143.3 nm.
  • Yannick Bestaven (Maître Coq IV), at 166.2 nm.
  • Damien Seguin (Apicil Group), at 264.4 nm.

The full ranking on the official website:

Ranking Jan. 27, 2021 – 6 p.m. (UTC)

Each day, the race management proposes a classification at 5 a.m., 9 a.m., 12 p.m., 3 p.m., 6 p.m. and 10 p.m.

What time will the skippers arrive?

The race management communicated this morning the estimated arrival times for the five leading boats:

  • APIVIA (Charlie Dalin): between 7 p.m. and 8 p.m.
  • Vallée 2 office (Louis Burton): between 11 p.m. and 1 a.m.
  • Sea Explorer (Boris Herrmann): between 1h and 2h
  • LinkedOut (Thomas Rettant): between 3 a.m. and 5 a.m.
  • Master CoQ IV (Yannick Bestaven): 3h30 and 5h30

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *