Nagorno-Karabakh: Armenia and Azerbaijan sign “total ceasefire” agreement under Russian aegis

Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan announced late Monday (November 9) that he had signed an agreement with the Azerbaijani and Russian leaders to cease fighting in Nagorno-Karabakh, after more than a month of deadly clashes in the separatist enclave. “On November 9, the President of Azerbaijan [Ilham Aliev], the Prime Minister of Armenia [Nikol] Pashinyan and the President of the Russian Federation signed a declaration announcing a complete ceasefire and the end of all military actions in the Nagorno-Karabakh conflict zone from midnight on November 10 Moscow time. “, in the aftermath confirmed Vladimir Putin, according to a statement released Monday night to Tuesday to the media.

The Russian president added that peacekeepers would be deployed, according to the Interfax agency. No official comment has yet been made by Azerbaijan, and details of the content of the agreement are not yet known.

In a statement posted overnight on his Facebook page, Armenian Prime Minister Nikol Pashinyan confirmed having “signed a declaration with the presidents of Russia and Azerbaijan on the end of the war in Karabakh”, qualifying this initiative “incredibly painful for [lui] and for [son] people”.

This is not a victory, but there is no defeat until one considers oneself beaten (…) This must mark the beginning of a new era for our national unity.

Nikol Pashinyan, Prime Minister of Armenia

on Facebook

The announcement follows six weeks of heavy fighting in the enclave and advancements by Azerbaijani troops. Baku claimed responsibility for the capture of the second largest city in the area on Monday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *