The Sakharov Prize awarded to the Belarusian opposition

The Belarusian opposition, with its leader Svetlana Tikhanovskaya and Svetlana Aleksievitch, Nobel Prize for Literature in 2015, was designated Sakharov Prize 2020 by the European Parliament on Thursday, October 22. “Do not give up your fight. We are at your side ”, tweeted the President of the European Parliament, the Italian David Sassoli. This choice, defended by the three parties forming the majority in the European Parliament, the EPP (right), S & D (social democrats) and Renew Europe (liberals), reinforces the foreign policy of the European Union, which has already sanctioned 40 officials of the Belarusian regime, including the Minister of the Interior and his deputy, accused of being involved in the repression and rigging of the presidential election of August 9. The Twenty-Seven are now considering sanctioning Alexander Lukashenko himself. This is the third time since the creation of the Sakharov Prize in 1988 that the Belarusian opposition has won.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *